Posted by: Sewtropolis | February 9, 2017

Selling Athena

Now that I’ve bought a house it’s time to sell my 1979, 27’ Argosy travel trailer. Athena. 

 I bought Athena from the original owners and in the 3 years I’ve had her I have replaced all four tires, awning and awning framework, electrical box, converter, water pump, electrical cord, black tank, toilet, shower faucet, kitchen sink faucet, and flooring.  I also added a deadbolt lock to the door for security. 


The trailer has the original stove/oven which still works, A/C unit (which works), furnace (does not work), water heater (works) water tank (no cracks or leaks), and kitchen sink.  The refrigerator with freezer are replacement and electric (work great). 

The trailer pulls like a dream, I’ve hauled it from Minneapolis to Seattle on my own and had no problems whatsoever!  The trailer has an automatic jack and two 8-gallon propane tanks which have been certified within the past 3 years (?). 

I sealed and painted the trailer last summer and after living in it for 6 months (during Seattle’s rainy season) I can tell you this trailer has absolutely no leaks.  The trailer needs someone who enjoys renovating and can fix her up to the gem she is.  Known issues are the plumbing needs to be replaced – I started some of it, but it’s a much larger project than I want to undertake.  

A little about Argosy – They were made by Airstreams for about 5-8 years.  They were the prototypes for the Airstream models – I’m told the Argosy’s had the original wrap windows which were so popular that Airstream added it to their regular line of trailers.  I have the original Argosy and Airstream manual for this trailer which are identical.  

The trailer has a full size bed in the front and two twin beds in the back, though, while I was living in it I removed one of the rear beds to make room for portable closet.  Rear bathroom model which includes full-size shower with bathtub.  

I have enjoyed the heck out of this trailer and now that I am no longer living it it I would like to find something a little smaller and more manageable.

Please contact me if you have questions or need more pictures.

Responses

  1. What are you selling it for? Did I miss that part?


Leave a Reply

Categories

