Posted by: Sewtropolis | October 7, 2016

Happy Birthday, Miss Grace

It’s been one year since I adopted this sweet girl.  Even though she’s 5 years old – she’s officially one year with me.

img_6229

After Leo and I moved to Seattle I felt really bad leaving him in an apartment all by his lonesome self.  Before we left Minnesota my house was full with 2 dogs, 2 kids and cat!  The Fat Cat died, then Skilos died and both kids moved out.  So, I’m sure Leo was lonely after moving here and it broke my heart.  So, I decided to adopt another dog to keep him company – enter Miss Grace.

img_6291

I found her on Craig’s list.  Her family had decided that she needed a better life than the one they were giving her.  There were two kids in the family, but they ignored her, she never went to the dog park because, as I was told, she didn’t know what to do – other than bark at all the other dogs.  She was heavy and full of hives, but she was part lab and I thought would be a good companion for Leo.

img_6901

After I brought her home Leo decided he wanted NOTHING to do with her – NOT  A  THING!  In fact, for the first few months they fought a LOT.  Mainly over toys, or seats on the couch or if she got to close to anything he was looking at… as long as there was no blood shed I would let them work it out.  Most of the time she got her way.

img_6705

Over the past year Grace has come to love dog parks, in fact her favorite thing to do is play with the other dogs – especially the ones who will chase her.  She has lost a lot of weight thanks to our many hiking trips and (almost) daily walks.

img_7215

Leo won’t admit it, but my guess is when I’m not around he’ll play with her.  Every once in a while I’ll catch him running beside her and not minding that she’s jumping all over him (in a playful way).

img_6551

She’s a completely different dog now than when I first brought her home. The first six months I spent a lot of time second guessing my decision, but these second 6 months she’s really come into her own and found a place in my  heart.

img_7156

She is a sweet, sweet girl who loves nothing more than to cuddle up with me at night.  One of these days I’ll get her to completely stop barking at the wind.

This week, I finally finished my quilt.  (it’s quilt and bound and ready to ship)

img_7368

You can find it for sale here.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

