Posted by: Sewtropolis | September 23, 2016

Sewing a Bra – Take 2

I did it!  I made a wearable bra!  image

It might look just like the bra I made before, but this one fits!  I used the same fabric for the main part, but a different fabric for the lining.

image

And I used the lining fabric from the first bra for the back pieces on this second bra.  Much better use for that fabric. I have way more stretch, which allows this bra to actually fit!

image

Lessons learned with this bra:  1.  I should use different fabric for the main piece.  The fabric that I used is a little stiff.  Definitely not made for bras.  2.  The wires need to be larger.  I ended up ordering wires that were not the correct size or shape so I used the wires out of an old bra.  Even those were a little short and moves around a bit in the casing.  Not too much, but I’d rather they not move at all.  3.  I definitely like the way this bra ‘perks’ up my silhouette – I’ve worn it all week just because it feels so much nicer to have everyone in their place!

Best part:  it was a quick sew!  I made this one in about 2 hours!  Not bad, huh?  I’ll definitely be making more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

